Flights of Fancy: Flowerflies, Wishes, and other Winged Things

Flutterby
Flower Fly Pendants by the Bauble Garden

Nothing captures the ephemeral nature of summertime like the changing colors of hydrangea blossoms. I made these winged creatures from hydrangea flowers, and called them flowerflies. The petals are carefully pressed and embedded in resin. Winged things always take me back to childhood: summertime when endless days of imagination stretched ahead. Those aren’t Dragonflies, but dragons that can fly! The world was full of Seedpod Helicopters, Butterfly Angels, Firefly Fairies, and wishes on dandelions, flower petals, seedpods, and bird feathers.
Angel Wings and Pretty Things
Angel-winged Flower Fly
Winged seeds are called Samaras. When I was little, I used to blow on them while making a wish, never minding that in some people’s eyes, those wishes were only weeds. The samaras in the necklace here come from the Japanese Knotweed, which grows in overlooked and forgotten places. Knotweed may seem quite ordinary. But their wishing seeds grow into edible spring shoots that taste like rhubarb, and produce a plethora of flowers that provide nectar for honeybees. Look for it under the name Bamboo Honey.
Samara Make a Wish Pendant
Make a Wish in Blue by the Bauble Garden
Speaking of Winged things, I absolutely love the iridescent winged sculptures by Ron Focarino of thefocarinostudio (see picture below). I’ll leave you with the words to one of my favorite Lori Mckenna songs, and some other things that will give your imagination wings:
Snakefly Sculpture
Snakefly Sculpture by the Focarino-Studio
Before you met me I was a fairy princess
I caught frogs and called them prince
And made myself a queen
Urban Nest by Kim Groff-Harrington
And before you knew me I’d traveled ’round the world
And I slept in castles
And fell in love
Because I was taught to dream
bead bug ornaments
Bead Bugs by the Bauble Garden
I found mayonnaise bottles and poked holes on top
To capture Tinkerbell
And they were just fireflies to the untrained eye
But I could always tell
Dragonfly earrings
Dragonfly Earrings by KUKLAstudio
Cause I believe in fairytales
And dreamer’s dreams
Like bedsheet sails
Dandelion Bottle by xoxiishop
And I believe in Peter Pan
And miracles, anything I can to get by
And fireflies
Maple Seed Bookmarks by Bialakura

Now before I grew up I saw you on a cloud
And I could bless myself in your name
And pat you on your wings

Gingko Leaf Mobile
Gingko Leaf Mobile by jfjones

And before I grew up I heard you whisper so loud
Well life is hard and so is love
Child, believe in all these things

-(Lyrics of Fireflies by Lori McKenna)
Mary Cicely Barker Illustration
Leave a Reply

